top of page

What excites/drains you?

This week, I focused on the journal entry about things that excite me, and also things that drain me. It was slightly eye opening, but most of it I already knew. The things that excite me are things that I generally like to do. And, on the flipside the things that drain me are things that I don't get much enjoyment out of at all. It was actually slightly difficult for me to come up with things that excite me, which was a bit concerning. If anything, this exercise taught me to be more aware of the things that I like doing while I'm doing rather than just taking them for granted. A lot of the time, I just assume that if I like to do somethings it's naturally what I should be doing. But, this is not true.

Things that drain me are most of the things that matter most in my life right now. For example, homework. I absolutely loathe every second of homework that I have to do, but I understand how valuable it is and that no matter how much I hate it that it won't go anywhere until I do it. Same goes for laundry. I hate it, but it must be done and me doing less of it would make my life subsequently harder. Unless I somehow won the lottery and was able to just buy a new outfit anytime I ran out of things to wear! I liked this exercise mostly for the fact that it made me see that there are things we as humans obviously hate to do, but they are very necessary. And, if I spent all of my time only doing things that I wanted to do, my life would not be the balance that it is.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page